Tag Archives: databases

SqlAlchemy and Microsoft Access

Update (10/12/2010) – One of my alert readers told me that SqlAlchemy 0.6.x currently does NOT support the Access dialect. Read here for more info.

A year or two ago, I was asked to transfer some data from some old Microsoft Access files to our Microsoft SQL Server. Since I enjoy using SqlAlchemy, I decided to see if it supported Access. The documentation at the time was pretty unhelpful in this regard, but it did seem to be possible and I found one thread about it on SqlAlchemy’s Google group. Continue reading SqlAlchemy and Microsoft Access

SqlAlchemy: Connecting to pre-existing databases

Accessing databases with Python is a simple process. Python even provides a sqlite database library that’s built into the main distribution (since 2.5). My favorite way to access databases with Python is to use the 3rd party package, SqlAlchemy. SqlAlchemy is an object-relational mapper (ORM), which means that it takes SQL constructs and makes them more like the target language. In this case, you end up using Python syntax to execute SQL rather than straight SQL and you can use the same code to access multiple database backends (if you’re careful).

In this article, we’re going to look at how to use SqlAlchemy to connect to pre-existing databases. If my experience is any indication, you’ll probably be spending more time working with databases that you didn’t create than with ones that you did. This article will show you how to connect to them. Continue reading SqlAlchemy: Connecting to pre-existing databases